Monday, September 8, 2014

"Sound Bites" by Rachel K. Burke

Sound Bites:
A Rock & Roll Love Story
by Rachel K. Burke

Rachel K. Burke shares an excerpt from her New Adult romance, Sound Bites
For another book by Rachel K. Burke, check out my blog post on Finding Mia.

Perfect for fans of J. Lynn and J. A. Redmerski!
What happens when you find yourself caught between a painful past and an uncertain future …
Renee Evans has a knack for trouble. After walking in on her best friend and boyfriend in bed together, twenty-five year-old Renee flees her dream job as a music journalist in sunny Los Angeles and returns to her hometown of Boston – only to meet Dylan Cavallari, the mysterious, aspiring musician who lives in her apartment building.
Dylan’s piercing gaze and womanizing demeanor make him exactly the type of guy that Renee should steer clear of – which is most likely the reason she falls for him. But when Renee’s troublesome ex comes back and threatens to drive her and Dylan apart, Renee is forced to face her past and save her relationship with Dylan before it's too late.
Sound Bites is a novel about love, friendship, betrayal, forgiveness, and the power of music to help you find your way.

I wasn’t sure if it was the song choice or the way he sang it, but something happened to me during that song that I couldn’t explain; something that had never occurred during any of his other performances. As his voice grew louder, I felt a stinging sensation shoot through me, and the truth that had been lurking in the back of my brain slowly made its way to the front row.
I was falling for him.
I tried to convince myself that I was only thinking that because he was singing a song that tore through my heart. It was a song that, no matter how many times I listened to it, still made me feel the same way I did the first time I heard it. But something was different when Dylan sang it. Something powerful. Something real.

Praise for the Book
"I loved everything about this book. The writing was great and the characters are so likable that you will be rooting for them the whole way." ~ Book Briefs
"If you are a fan of contemporary romance with the added bonus of a rock and roll element, you will love Sound Bites." ~ Always YA at Heart
"When a book makes you smile as much as this one did, you know you’ve found a good thing." ~ The Bookish Babe
"The characters in this book were so engaging, and I found myself being a true cheerleader for Renee. A very well written, thoroughly enjoyable story." ~ Turning the Pages
"Have you ever just connected with a person and had to fight to be with them? Well if you have, this book is for you." ~ Diary of a Book Addict
"For a cute, fun story about love and music, Sound Bites is definitely a book to check out." ~ Peace Love Books

About the Author
Rachel discovered she wanted to be a writer at the age of ten, when her love of R. L. Stine murder mystery novels inspired her to start writing her own.
In 2008, Rachel began freelancing for several magazines including Prevention, Jamsbio, and Worcester Magazine.
After graduating from Bridgewater University in 2011 with a B.A. in Communications and Media Studies, Rachel released her first novel, Sound Bites: A Rock & Roll Love Story, which was ranked a 2012 Amazon Kindle Top 100 Bestseller in the Girls & Women genre.
Rachel's second novel, Finding Mia, was also ranked a 2013 Amazon Kindle Top 100 Bestseller in the Women's Fiction and Literary Fiction genres.
Rachel currently resides in Santa Monica, California.