Monday, April 4, 2016

"Whatever It Takes" by Lindsey Pogue

Whatever It Takes
(Nothing But Trouble Book 1)
by Lindsey Pogue

Whatever It Takes, the first book in the new Nothing But Trouble series by Lindsey Pogue, is currently on tour with Xpresso Book Tours. The tour stops here today for my review, an excerpt, and a giveaway. Please be sure to visit the other tour stops as well.

For more books by this author, please check out my blog post on After the Ending (FREE) and my blog post on Before the Dawn.

“Your heart’s so big, it holds too many emotions,” Papa once told me. “I can see them in your eyes, just like I could with your mama. You love like it’s air you need to breathe. It’s what makes you special, but it’s also what will give you the most heartache.” I’m starting to think that maybe Papa was right.
Four years ago, I thought my life was pretty normal for a teenager. Three years ago, my world was shattered, and now I’m just trying to hold the pieces together. Regret and anger aren’t so easy to ignore. I just need to catch my breath … I just need it all to go away …
I thought I might finally be ready to move on from that horrible night, but then he decided to come back.
He can’t come back … he’ll ruin me completely.
One horror-filled night changes the course of Samantha’s seemingly normal life. She’s ruined everything. Despite Sam’s determination to keep the family ranch up and running, her guilt makes it impossible to completely move on or forget.
Sam takes comfort in her quirky, endearing friends as she tries to balance between the girl she was and the woman she wants to become. Just when she thinks she’s finally making amends with her past, someone she never thought she’d see again returns, and Sam’s life is once again turned upside down. Both her head and her heart want different things, so she’s lost when, once again, she’s forced to make a decision that will inevitably change her life.
Nothing But Trouble is my new adult series following the journey of three friends - Sam, Mac, and Nick - as they struggle with life, love, grief, and the unwavering power of friendship. With a sprinkle of romance, a dash of comedy, and a flooding of heart, Nothing But Trouble is a series that will hopefully make you laugh as much as you might cry. Whatever It Takes, book one of the series, is Sam’s story. Mac’s story will be released in Winter 2016.

Click below to read an excerpt.

Praise for the Book
"A warm, heartfelt story about the best of friends in the worst of times. Rich with love, pain, and promise, this is a story that will take you through the ringer and leave you smiling." ~ Tracey Ward, Bestselling Dystopian and New Adult Author
"Lindsey Pogue has crafted a beautiful, brave story about relationships--about friendship and love, family and loss. Both bitter and sweet, Whatever It Takes shows us that the ties that bind us together are, at times, the same things that tear us apart." ~ Lindsey Fairleigh, Dystopian and Paranormal Romance Author
"These characters are real and flawed and so easy to love." ~ Carol, Goodreads Addict and Rockstar Reviewer

My Review

By Lynda Dickson
Four years ago, Reilly joined the army to escape his abusive father. His only regret is that he had to leave Sam behind after only just starting their relationship. A year later, Reilly returns for an unexpected visit, which indirectly results in Sam's father dying in a car crash. Sam blames herself for her father's death, and so does her step-mother Allison. Now, wracked by guilt, Sam struggles to keep their horse ranch afloat, with the help of her cousin Nick. When Reilly returns home to sell his father's farm, old memories resurface. Will Sam and Reilly rekindle the romance they began four years ago? Or are old hurts too hard to overcome?
The story is told from the points-of-view of Sam and Reilly, with flashbacks to what happened on that fateful night three years ago, as well as flashbacks to four years ago when Reilly left town. Their alternating viewpoints switch faster and faster towards the end - even during the same scene - giving us two distinct takes on a situation and providing a sense of urgency. Unfortunately, the author takes too long to reveal the characters' innermost thoughts and fears, so that we don't feel connected until near the end. Some aspects of the story are glossed over, especially Sam's coping mechanism. Being a New Adult book, both this aspect and the sexual encounters could be more explicit. In addition, there are quite a few editing errors and awkwardly structured sentences. The author provides a lot of detail in the narrative which, while not strictly necessary, sets the scene and provides atmosphere and a great sense of place. We get a good introduction to Mac and Nick, who will be the focus of subsequent books. While Sam's story is complete, the book ends with a teaser to Mac's story, which is coming soon.
Warnings: coarse language, sex scenes, child abuse, excessive alcohol consumption, self-harm.

About the Author
Lindsey Pogue has always been a little creative. As a child she established a bug hospital on her elementary school soccer field, wrote her first YA manuscript in high school, and as an adult, expresses herself through writing. Her novels are inspired by her observations of the world around her - whether she’s traveling, people watching, or hiking. When not plotting her next storyline or dreaming up new, brooding characters, Lindsey’s wrapped in blankets watching her favorite action flicks or going on road trips with her own leading man.

Enter the tour-wide giveaway for a chance to win one of two signed copies (US only) OR one of two ebook copies of Whatever It Takes by Lindsey Pogue (international).