Thursday, October 16, 2014

"Between the Stars and Sky" by David James

Between the Stars and Sky
by David James

Between the Stars and Sky is a vivid contemporary novel from Young Adult author David James. Lyrical and romantic, Between the Stars and Sky is a heart-stopping, contemporary read for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and David Levithan.
For more books by this author, please check out my blog post on Shades of the Stars and my blog post on Shadow of the Sun.
In the small, lakeside town of Huntington, the Firelight Festival marks the end of summer. A time to laugh, to live, to love. And for Jackson Grant, it is a chance to begin again.
But there is a darker side to the Firelight Festival, a deadly tradition known as the Firelight Fall. A secret game. A legendary lie. A test of bravery. Those who fall risk everything, and Jackson is on the edge. Until he meets a girl who pushes him over.
For Jackson, falling for Sarah Blake might be as dangerous as jumping in the Firelight Fall. As summer burns away, Jackson and Sarah ignite an unstoppable love game. For her, his heart is on fire. And soon, Sarah shows him life, saves him from loss, and opens his heart to an infinite and wild love found between the stars and sky.

Praise for the Book
"Breath-takingly lyrical, heart-breakingly real, Between the Stars and Sky left me wanting only one thing: more. I still want more time with these characters, more time in this world. I'll be thinking about this one for a long time to come." ~ Joy N. Hensley, author of Rites of Passage
"With beautiful, poetic writing and a totally unique premise, Between the Stars and Sky is like nothing I have read before. I am in awe of David James." ~ Nyrae Dawn, bestselling author of Charade

From the Author
I'm so excited for Between the Stars and Sky to finally be released. This book is ... different for me.
First, it's a contemporary story. It's real. It could happen. Writing something like that was so different for me I wasn't sure if I could do it. But then I found these characters, and in Jackson and Sarah I found a place where I loved to write.
Second, this story. THIS STORY. I didn't think I would get through it. It's one of those stories that is so big and so small and so delicate and so IN YOUR FACE lovely and scary and sad and happy that I wasn't sure I could make it through this book alive.
But again, THESE CHARACTERS. I love them. And I love this story. It's a minimalistic story, so there is very little filler. Just words that mean something. To Jackson, the main character, this is important. I took what was important to the characters and reflected that in the way I told the story.
This isn't a long story, but it is a big one. Complete with a crazy, scary dare, a secret game. A test of bravery. A love story. Kisses. Betrayals. First loves. Second loves. Diverse loves. All kinds of loves. Life and death. Fear and not.
And in the end, I'm not sure if this story wrote me, or I wrote it. I guess you'll find out. :)
If you have questions about the content of the story, read here.

About the Author
David James writes books about stars and kisses and curses. He is the author of the young adult novel, Light of the Moon, the first book in the Legend of the Dreamer duet, as well as the companion novellas, The Witch's Curse and The Warrior's Code. A Legend of the Dreamer anthology, Shades of the Stars, was released July 2013 and includes the exclusive novella, The Enchanter's Fire. The final book in the duet, Shadow of the Sun, will be released in 2015. Living in Michigan, David is addicted to coffee, gummy things, and sarcastic comments. He enjoys bad movies, goofy moments, and shivery nights. Be sure to visit David's blog and Facebook page to learn more about his various addictions and novels.

Enter the tour-wide giveaway for your chance to win an ebook copy of Between the Stars and Sky by David James.

This book tour is brought to you by Crazy Girl Book Tours.