Friday, March 27, 2020

"Alycat and the Tournament Tuesday" by Alysson Foti Bourque


REVIEW and GIVEAWAY
Alycat and the Tournament Tuesday
by Alysson Foti Bourque

Alycat and the Tournament Tuesday by Alysson Foti Bourque

Alycat and the Tournament Tuesday is the fourth book in the Alycat series by Alysson Foti Bourque. Also available: Alycat and the Thursday Dessert Day! (read my blog post), Alycat and the Monday Blues (read my blog post), and Alycat and the Friendship Friday.


Alycat and the Tournament Tuesday is currently on tour with iRead BookTours. The tour stops here today for my review, a guest post by the author, and a giveaway. Please be sure to visit the other tour stops as well.


Description
A “Mom’s Choice Award Winner”! Alycat’s brother, Bugsy, is playing in a golf tournament with some of his friends and wants to use his lucky ball to win the game. But when Alycat forgets his lucky ball at home, Bugsy learns what luck is really all about. Can Bugsy win the tournament without his lucky ball? Alycat and the Tournament Tuesday is part of the Alycat Series.

Book Video


Praise for the Book
“In Bourque's charming fourth picture book, ...returning Alycat fans will be happy to see more of their favorite heroine and her visually diverse cast of feline family and friends. The book is also a beginner's introduction to the sport of golf, with a helpful glossary in the back. Cat fans will be won over by the whimsical artwork and Bugsy's triumph. This sweet and beautifully illustrated story will capture young cat fanciers and parents who want to teach their children about self-reliance. Great for fans of Stan and Jan Berenstain, Janette Sebring Lowrey.” ~ BookLife Reviews
“This book provides an opportunity for parents to discuss the benefits of practice in every area of a child's life - from schoolwork, sports, or playing a musical instrument. Alycat and the Tournament Tuesday, written by Alysson Foti Bourque, teaches an important life lesson to young readers. It is one book of a series that children will love!” ~ Readers' Favorite
Alycat and the Tournament Tuesday has been named among the best in family-friendly media, products, and services.” ~ Mom's Choice Awards®
“I think this is a wonderful book for families to share - especially those with preschool and young elementary aged students. Kids begin "competing" at such young ages-and this is a great book for parents to help children understand talent, perseverance--and confidence in their growing abilities. This is a fun, easy to read story that is perfect to open larger discussions for families about success in activities - and the psychological significance of those ‘lucky charms’ and ‘rituals’. This one even has a little glossary of golf terms so that readers can better understand the Bugsy's golf game! I love this series and would definitely recommend the series for young readers.” ~ Angela
“The illustrations are bright and eye catching to a young reader. The simple but engaging storyline keeps young readers attention. It was a joy to read to some of the young ones at my local library. They really enjoyed the captivating tale and lovely characters. The Alycat’s ABC’s of Golf is wonderful extension to the book. Which helps open ended questions about the game of golf with engaging vocabulary.” ~ Gwendalyn A

My Review
I received this book in return for an honest review.


By Lynda Dickson
On Tournament Tuesday, Bugsy doesn’t have his lucky golf ball, so Alycat makes him a new one without his knowledge. Will Bugsy find out? Can he win without his lucky ball? After all, as Bugsy’s mother says, “It’s not luck that helps your golf game, it’s practice and hard work.” This is a great lesson for children to learn, and it applies to all aspects of life.
The illustrations by Chiara Civati bring these cute characters to life. I love the bits of color inserted into the text that correspond to things in the illustrations (for example, the characters’ names in colors that match their clothing so that we know who’s who). At the end of the book, you’ll find “Alycat’s ABCs of Golf”, a glossary of golfing terms. I just wish more of these terms were used in the story.
A fun, inspirational, and educational book for the kids.

Guest Post by the Author
How to be a Better Reader
I have been going into schools for author visits for over four years now, teaching students about the Alycat series and reading. When I give a presentation to students and parents, I have a slide that I present called “The MEOWS to Being a Better Reader”. The first letter of each item spells MEOWS.
1.     MARK IT UP
Allow readers to highlight and markup their favorite parts of the book.
2.     EYE MUSCLE MEMORY
Watch TV with closed caption on to train your eyes to look for words.
3.     OWNERSHIP
Bring readers to bookstores/libraries and let them choose ANY book/magazine they want.
4.     WRITE TO READ
To become a better writer, read. To become a better reader, write.
5.     SIMILARITIES
Introduce books with similar interests to reader.
So many times, children are forced to reader books that do not interest them. This will only bring resentment and a life-long hate of reading. I allow my own children to pick out their own books at the library or bookstores, regardless of the age range. However, they aren’t allowed to read books that are inappropriate for their age range. Sometimes my middle schoolers will pick up picture books, and that is OK! They are reading and using their imagination!

About the Author
Alysson Foti Bourque
Alysson Foti Bourque is the author of the award-winning Alycat series. Alysson earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Elementary Education from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and a Juris Doctor degree from the Southern University Law Center.
After practicing law for six years, she traded in writing trial briefs for writing children’s books. Alysson enjoys public speaking opportunities at schools, conferences, and festivals nationwide. She hopes to inspire people of all ages to follow their dreams and believe in themselves wholeheartedly.

Giveaway
Enter the tour-wide giveaway for a chance to win one of two autographed copies of Alycat and the Tournament Tuesday by Alysson Foti Bourque (US only).

Links

Featured in this post:








No comments:

Post a Comment