Friday, November 3, 2017

"Sitting in Silence" by Nicholas Rinth

Sitting in Silence
by Nicholas Rinth

Sitting in Silence by Nicholas Rinth

Sitting in Silence by Nicholas Rinth is currently on tour with Reading Addiction Book Tours. The tour stops here today for my review and an excerpt. Please be sure to visit the other tour stops as well.

Sitting in Silence is a collection of poetry and prose birthed during the idle instances of life that allow for noiseless introspection. It’s about the struggles of love, of loss, and of the unsuspecting experiences in between that make life worth living - and worth scorning.
From a beginning filled with bitter ruminations, to an ending that embraces reality and its sufferings, Sitting in Silence is a reminder to accept what the world hurls in your path, and to let those hardships shape you into something better.

Fledgling smile on my face,
Clinking iron lifted from my chest,
And, before me, the open road,
Glittering with fresh dewdrops,
And smelling startlingly like the sun,
I’m finally awake.
[Want more? Click here to read a longer excerpt.]

Praise for the Book
"They are really interesting (and I didn’t choose this word just out of courtesy). I really like them! The verses have no rhyme, but this does not ruin any of their beauty or the message they send. Damn ... some are really beautiful!" ~ CCAM&GZM, Mythical Books
"An incredible, thought provoking work. The imagery in each piece evokes paintings in your head. This isn't just a book, this is art made from words. Pure emotion that you just can't get enough of. Each scrawl, each poem, and letter is a thought summoned directly from the heart, then turned into speech." ~ Stu Richard
"Enjoyable! I really liked reading these poems. Easy to read, and thought provoking. I'm glad I found this book, well written and reflective." ~ Stephanie L - Adventures Thru wonderland

"Me" by Nicholas Rinth

My Review
I received this book in return for an honest review.

By Lynda Dickson
Sitting in Silence is a collection of poems, prose, letters, and scrawls written over the course of a number of years. The book is divided into four sections. "Part I: Reminiscence" covers the remembrance of past loves, grieving for loves lost due to breakups or death; "Part II: Relapse" deals with depression; "Part III: Realization" concentrates on acceptance; and "Part IV: Recovery" deals with the healing process.
The book's format brings to mind the seven stages of grief, and the arrangement of the pieces appears to tell a sequential story, even though the pieces themselves were written in a different order. The author's language is easy to read, but the subject matter is quite intense. Therefore, some readers may choose to savor it in small doses by delving into the section most suited to their mood.
The book is beautifully presented, and I especially enjoyed the full page scrawls. While there are a few editing errors, they don't really detract from the reading experience and, if anything, lend authenticity to the work as words written in the heat of the moment. As the author states, "These words have all been felt at one time or another."
My favorite poems: "Immersion", "What You Make of It", "Solitude".

About the Author
Nicholas Rinth lives lakeside in the southern graces of Savannah, Georgia. Where he spends his time fantasizing about other worlds and working on his next novel.