Friday, March 20, 2015

"Day One" by Summer Lane

Day One
(Zero Trilogy Book 2)
by Summer Lane

Day One, the second book in Summer Lane's Zero Trilogy, has just been released and is available for only $0.99. Also available: Day Zero (read my blog post).

This book blitz and giveaway is brought to you by Xpresso Book Tours.

The Zero Trilogy complements the Collapse Series, consisting of State of Emergency, State of Chaos, State of Rebellion (read my blog post), State of Pursuit (read my blog post), and State of Alliance (read my blog post).

The apocalypse took everything from Elle: her family, her world and now … her friends. After escaping the ravaged streets of Los Angeles, Elle finds herself stranded alone in California when her friends are kidnapped by a new and dangerous enemy. Determined to rescue them from a horrible fate, Elle begins her trek across the unforgiving desert, into the mountains, and into Slaver Territory.
All is not what it seems. Death lurks around every corner. Enemies are everywhere.
With the help of a new and brave companion, Elle fights against all odds, clinging to hope and life.
Day Zero is behind her. Day One is before her.
The end of the world is just beginning.

There are no reviews as yet for this NEW RELEASE.

Guest Post by the Author
Continuing the Adventure
Day One is the continuation of Elle’s story. She finds herself stuck in the post-apocalyptic wasteland of the California Central Valley. She is alone again, and I started the book as if it were the next chapter in the previous book. I wanted readers to jump right in with Elle, feeling what she was feeling, and seeing what she was seeing.
I also wanted to explore a part of California that I haven’t ventured to yet in any of my novels – the desert! What’s amazing about the state that I live in is that you can visit the desert, the city, the ocean, the valley, the mountains and the cold, chilly harbors of Northern California without ever leaving the state. There are so many environments. It’s the perfect place to tell a story!
I had Elle’s story firmly in my mind from beginning to end when I started writing the trilogy, so writing three books has been like writing one big one for me. I know exactly where Elle is going, and I know exactly what is going to happen … I just can’t share it all with you guys at one time! I can’t wait for you to check out this next short installment of Elle’s adventure in Day One.

Interview with the Author
Where did the inspiration for the Zero Trilogy come from?
I can’t say that it simply hit me like a lightning bolt. The character of Elle was the first thing that slowly formed in my mind – and then the storyline came after. I was writing the Collapse Series at the time, and I had just released State of Pursuit. I saw Elle in my imagination and I started working on a couple of different versions of a Day Zero manuscript over the summer. By the time August was over, I had a pretty good rough draft of the novel.
What is your favorite part of writing the Zero Trilogy?
I get to write about characters that are outside of the militias and military. The Collapse Series follows Cassidy Hart’s rise through the rankings of the resistance movement against a foreign invasion, and Elle’s journey is considerably different.
Elle is not a soldier. She is a teenager living in the apocalypse. She is a fighter and a survivor, but she is alone. Also, her companions are teenagers, too – average, everyday kids. I liked showing that component. Not everybody can be in the militia, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t fighters.
What is your favorite part of being a writer?
Being my own boss, and being able to make a living out of telling stories. I’ve always been hyper-self-disciplined, so running a publishing house is right up my alley. I have about 2-3 major deadlines a week, and I love the pressure. It’s stressful, but it’s exciting. I am happiest when I’m working on something.
Any new or upcoming projects?
Yes! State of Vengeance (Collapse Series Book 6) releases on 26 June 2015. A yet-untitled and brand new Collapse project will release in August 2015, and End of Day – the last installment in the Zero Trilogy – will release 9 October 2015.
In 2016, I have an entirely new series coming out, as well as continuing Collapse and releasing a standalone novel featuring one of the hit characters from Cassidy Hart’s world.

About the Author
Summer Lane is the author of the international bestselling Collapse Series and Zero Trilogy.
Summer owns WB Publishing and Writing Belle, an online magazine dedicated to the Art of Storytelling. Summer is also an accomplished creative writing teacher and professional journalist.
She lives in the Central Valley of California, where she creates her stories and shares them with the world.

Enter the blitz-wide giveaway for a chance to win some great prizes (open internationally).