Showing posts with label ice hockey. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ice hockey. Show all posts

Friday, January 12, 2018

"Breaking the Ice" by Julie Cross

EXCERPT and GIVEAWAY
Breaking the Ice
(Juniper Falls Book 2)
by Julie Cross

Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls Book 2) by Julie Cross

Breaking the Ice is the second book in the Juniper Falls series by Julie Cross. Also available: Off the Ice (read my blog post).

Off the Ice by Julie Cross

Breaking the Ice is currently on tour with Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours. The tour stops here today for an excerpt and a giveaway. Please be sure to visit the other tour stops as well.


Description
Haley Stevenson seems like she's got it all together: cheer captain, "Princess" of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she's struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she's sworn them off completely until college.
Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He's always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he's finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner.
But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who's ready to break all the rules.
Note: Each book in the Juniper Falls series is standalone.


Excerpt
“I’ll give you two choices…one, you can tell me the truth about that little job of yours and I’ll leave you alone with your hangover. Or two, you can clean yourself up and get your head together and do some work with me, and I’ll forget about the panties and the money and the lipstick…”
I doubt she’ll forget anything, but I have to hold out hope at least. I glance warily at her. “Option two. Definitely two.”
The smirk on Haley’s face is gonna be forever etched into my memory. She knew I’d pick option two.
[Want more? Click below to read a longer excerpt.]


Praise for the Book
Breaking the Ice is a wonderful young adult romance with plenty of heat and with a little something extra, that I won't spoil, but you'll know what I mean when you read it.” ~ Theresa H. Hernandez
“You need this book. It's funny, lovable and I'm totally addicted.” ~ Danii
“This book had some really funny moments where I almost burst out laughing while reading this book out in public. And it did have its emotional moments that made you feel.” ~ Jacqueline
“A great YA read and one I think everyone will enjoy.” ~ Bette Hansen
“Julie Cross never disappoints me and this is a perfect example why. It might be part of a series, but you can read it without having read the first book and still feel like you 'got' everything.” ~ John Rogers ClarkIV


About the Author
Julie Cross
Julie Cross is a NY Times and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, and Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press).
Julie Cross was a longtime resident of central Illinois but has recently moved her entire family across the country to continue her academic studies at Stanford University.



Giveaway
Enter the tour-wide giveaway for a chance to win signed copies (US only) or ebook copies of Off the Ice and Breaking the Ice plus a $25 Amazon.com gift card.

Links


Thursday, March 9, 2017

"Off the Ice" by Julie Cross

INTERVIEW and GIVEAWAY
Off the Ice
(Juniper Falls Book 1)
by Julie Cross


Off the Ice by Julie Cross is currently on tour with Chapter by Chapter Blog Tours. The tour stops here today for my interview with the author and a giveaway. Please be sure to visit the other tour stops as well.


Description
The NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of Whatever Life Throws at You kicks off a brand-new series perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines.
All is fair in love and hockey ...
Claire O’Connor is back in Juniper Falls, but that doesn’t mean she wants to be. One semester off, that’s what she promised herself. Just long enough to take care of her father and keep the family business - a hockey bar beside the ice rink - afloat. After that, she’s getting the hell out. Again.
Enter Tate Tanley. What happened between them the night before she left town resurfaces the second they lay eyes on each other. But the guy she remembers has been replaced by a total hottie. When Tate is unexpectedly called in to take over for the hockey team’s star goalie, suddenly he’s in the spotlight and on his way to becoming just another egotistical varsity hockey player. And Claire’s sworn off Juniper Falls hockey players for good.
It’s the absolute worst time to fall in love.
For Tate and Claire, hockey isn’t just a game. And they both might not survive a body check to the heart.

Excerpt
Click below to read an excerpt.


Praise for the Book
"Wow, this book had so much depth and heart. [...] This book has two characters dealing with some pretty heavy stuff, and I really loved how the author took us through that and the reactions and actions all made sense to me. It was just really well done. It made me feel for both of them, and I was intrigued with how they were dealing with it and how their relationship with each other would either benefit or hinder them." ~ Lenore Kosinski, Celebrity Readers
"I just loved everything about this novel. The characters, the setting, the romance, the stakes - it all worked for me. And I honestly am so excited to know that there will be more stories set in Juniper Falls, it seems to me like it's a town worth knowing." ~ Eva Scalzo, Definitely, Possibly, Maybe
"Cross does a great job of capturing the sweet, raw emotions of young love and coming-of-age through natural dialogue and real-to-life character reactions. The secondary characters keep this story moving as well. I'm excited for the next book in this series." ~ Dawn Alexander, DawnAlexander.com
"The absolute best thing about this book is that it is book one in the Juniper Falls series and that means there are going to be more books!!! Already I can see so many possibilities for secondary characters in this book to have a chance to tell their story and I can't wait." ~ Madison, Madison's Library
"Readers will be drawn into the story and become invested in the character's lives. Definitely recommend!" ~ Kristen Cambensy, Victim of Books

Interview With the Author
Julie Cross joins me today to discuss her new book, Off the Ice.
For what age group do you recommend your book?
Probably 14 and up.
What sparked the idea for this book?
Well, I love sports themed YA, and I really wanted to try my hand at creating a fictional town and portraying small town life.
So, which comes first? The character's story or the idea for the novel?
For me, usually the characters. Then comes their problem(s) and that launches a story.
What was the hardest part to write in this book?
Probably Tate’s dad. He’s pretty horrible. I wanted him to be nice but his character shaped Tate’s and became a reality. But it was still hard.
How do you hope this book affects its readers?
Like all my books, I hope it’s fun and engrossing. Maybe they shed a few tears?
What is your writing routine?
My routine is that I have no routine. Seriously. I’m self-proclaimed as consistently inconsistent.
What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?
Read a lot. Enjoy life. Try new things. Take risks. And write.
What do you like to do when you're not writing?
I like to cook and reorganize things. I teach gymnastics at the Y and really enjoy working with the kids in my classes.
What does your family think of your writing?
They are proud of it and sometimes they think it’s weird.
Did you like reading when you were a child?
I learned to read when I was only four years old and I haven’t stopped since. Books have always been a big part of my life.
When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?
I didn’t begin writing until I was 29 years old. It was just a little hobby and then it grew into more.
Did your childhood experiences influence your writing?
Reading and developing an early love for books was a huge influence on my desire to write.
Which writers have influenced you the most?
That’s a really hard question to answer. I’m not sure if I could pinpoint any specific authors that shape my writing. But as a kid my favorite books were The Baby-Sitters Club series, John Grisham novels, most of the children’s classics.
Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?
I do hear from readers all around the world on a daily basis. And they say all kinds of things, everyone has a unique story and a unique reading experience.
What can we look forward to from you in the future?
There will be at least two more books in the Juniper Falls series and then I’m also finishing up a second Chasing Truth book.
Thank you for taking the time to stop by today, Julie. Best of luck with your future projects.

About the Author
Julie Cross is a NY Times and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, and Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press).
She’s also the author of the Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, and many more to come!
Julie lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, long-time gymnastics fan, coach, and former Gymnastics Program Director with the YMCA.
She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and new adult genres.
Outside of her reading and writing cred, Julie Cross is a committed – but not talented – long distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.

Giveaway
Enter the tour-wide giveaway for a chance to win a Kindle Fire (US only).

Links